Mountains to Sea dlr Book Festival Irish Times Poetry Now Award

Date: Saturday March 30th
Venue: dlr LexIcon Lab, Level 3
Time: 12pm
Cost: Free Event
Age: Adult

Mountains to Sea dlr Book Festival and The Irish Times once again present the Poetry Now award in which the winner of the best collection of 2018 is announced.  This year’s judges are poets Bernard O’Donoghue, Moya Cannon and Lucy Collins.

Bernard O'Donoghue was born in Cullen, Co Cork in 1945. He is an Emeritus Fellow of Wadham College, where he taught Medieval English and Modern Irish Poetry. He has published seven collections of poetry, including Gunpowder, winner of the 1995 Whitbread Prize for Poetry, and The Seasons of Cullen Church (2016) which was shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot prize. His Selected Poems was published by Faber in 2008. He has published a verse translation of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Penguin Classics 2006), and is currently translating Piers Plowman for Faber.  He edited The Cambridge Companion to Seamus Heaney (2009).

Dr Lucy Collins joined UCD in 2008 after previously teaching at Trinity College Dublin and in the UK at the University of Cumbria. Her research interests are in poetry and poetics; recent publications include the anthology Poetry by Women in Ireland 1870-1970 (Liverpool UP, 2012) and a monograph Contemporary Irish Women Poets: Memory and Estrangement (Liverpool UP, 2015).   Lucy’s work with UCD’s Decade of Centenaries Committee centres on literary and cultural events. She convened a symposium Yeats in Print 1889-1939 at UCD Library in May 2015, to mark 150 years since the birth of the poet. The following year she edited the book Signatories, which accompanied the landmark theatre event commemorating the 1916 Rising.

Moya Cannon has published five collections of poetry; her most recent, Keats Lives (2015), is published by Carcanet Press. She has edited Poetry Ireland Review, and was 2011 Heimbold Professor of Irish Studies at Villanova 
University. Her next collection will be published by Carcanet Press in September 2019.

This year’s shortlist is:

Eva Bourke

Seeing Yellow  (Dedalus Press)

Ailbhe D’Arcy

Insistence  (Bloodaxe)


Martina Evans 

Now we can talk openly about Men  (Carcanet Press)


Tom French 

The Last Straw  (Gallery Books)


Derek Mahon 

Against The Clock  (Gallery Books)


Leanne O Sullivan 

A Quarter of an Hour  (Bloodaxe)