The Shine Strong Poetry Award

Date: Sunday March 29th
Venue: dlr LexIcon, The Studio
Time: 12pm
Cost: Free Event. Booking Required
Age: Adult

The Shine/Strong Reading features readings by the poets shortlisted for
this year's Shine/Strong Award, as well as the presentation of the Award.
The Award is presented annually to the author of the best first collection
of poems published by an Irish poet in the previous year. Previous winners
of the Award include Adam Crothers, Breda Wall Ryan, Caoilinn Hughes, Tara
Bergin, Michelle O'Sullivan, Billy Ramsell,Grace Wells, Peadar Ó hUallaigh,
Nerys Williams and Dave Lordan.

This year, our judge is Thomas McCarthy.
The Shine Strong Award is awarded in memory of Rupert and Eithne
Strong and is made possible by the generous support of Shine, the national
organisation dedicated to upholding the rights and addressing the needs of
all those affected by mental ill health.

The shortlist for this year's award is:

Reading John Ashbery in Costa Coffee, Carlow by Derek Coyle (Magnus Grehn förlag)

Earth Music by Eithne Lannon (Turas Press, Dublin)

deleted by Dairena Ní Chinnéide (Salmon Poetry)

The Wren is Near: An Dreoilín in ár Measc by Ashley O’Neal (Eridanus Press)

If All the World and Love Were Young by Stephen Sexton (Penguin Books)

Thomas McCarthy was born in Waterford in 1954. He has won the Patrick Kavanagh Award, the Alice Hunt Bartlett Prize and the O’Shaughnessy Prize for Poetry as well as the Ireland Funds Annual Literary Award. In 1994-95 he was Humphrey Professor of English at Macalester College, Minnesota. He is a member of Aosdána and a former Editor of Poetry Ireland Review and The Cork Review. His work has been translated into Italian, Portuguese, Chinese, French, Japanese and several other languages. His work has been republished in more than thirty anthologies of Irish poetry, including The Penguin Book of Contemporary Irish Poetry and, most recently, in An Anthology of Irish Poetry from Harvard University Press as well as The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry: Volume II (Wake Forest University Press). His Prophecy was published by Carcanet Press in 2019.